Ahhh, Spring

IMG_3496

I absolutely live for Spring after The Season of Double-Plus UnGood (particularly February, AKA The Longest Shortest Month of the Year). Crocus, daffs, tulips, phlox . . .  right on!
I love buttercups and bleeding hearts together. The buttercups really glow on an overcast day like today:

IMG_3490

I put 300 of these Emperor tulips bordering my front yard grass and the road:

IMG_3489

“Soapwort” is a pretty goofy name for such a delightful, darling little flower. Getting up close makes you just want to roll in it:

IMG_3483

The mini-iris are blooming early this year. As a special bonus for TaterTot Casserole readers, the photo below is scratch-and-sniff (try it!):

IMG_3497

(You dork.)

How does your garden grow?

4 Comments

  1. RW said,

    April 15, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    It doesnt – we live in a city and have no yard. These purty flowers are the first I’ve seen in a long while. And today with the nor’easter, all flowers that were starting to come up have run away, scared. Looks like you guys are having a much nicer spring than us easterners.

  2. Mary Steck said,

    April 16, 2007 at 8:57 am

    How luscious your flowers look! How can just a picture make you feel better?
    I needed cheering up today (boss quit, brother-in-law died, knees hurt, etc.) and you and your lovely flowers helped a lot. Thanks for coming into my day and brightening it. Maybe I’ll take a mental health day this week and work in my garden. Love, Mary

  3. Marky Poos said,

    April 17, 2007 at 12:40 am

    Hey – now I’ve got a scratch on my monitor, and all I can still smell is a dog with a bit of a stomach problem 😦

    Love your blog Nikki – keep it up. One day I might even be inspired to start my own, although I’d probably just rant about dishonest politicians et al.

    Give my best to the Fam.

    -Mark

  4. Joan said,

    April 22, 2007 at 11:01 am

    Your flowers are so beautiful and so real looking even on the screen, I can almost smell them. Don’t you just love nature. J


Leave a Reply

