I Had a Dream . . .

I’ve been homeschooling for nearly 11 years now.  My standard answer to anyone asking,”How long do you plan on homeschooling?” has been “As long as it works.”  Well, it stopped working.

I’m putting G (1st grade) and LouLou (3rd grade) in school full-time this year.  I’m not in a place right now where I can do it all: homeschool a high schooler, a junior-high schooler, a needy gradeschooler, two emerging readers, and keep the fearless Madame Chaos supervised, while upholding the mere basics of family nutrition, cleanliness enough to keep Social Services away, study for my Sunday School calling, manage the weeds . . . . . .  Well, I could, I suppose, if I were willing to continue to neglect my self, but I feel like I’m disappearing.  Mom, Wife, and Teacher have overshadowed Nikki, and she’s hungry for some sunlight and fresh air. 

Happily, G has been begging to go to school for some time (he wants BOYS!!), so he is looking forward to it.  LouLou is more reluctant, but the neighbor girl she loves will be in her class, so she’s okay with it.  Kiwi will take band and math at the junior high, and Missy will take band, varsity choir, seminary, speech, and (college-credit!) trig at the high school.  We’ll continue at home with their English, foreign language, science, and history, and with Dee’s preschool skills.  It’s still plenty to fill my days, but I’m looking forward to having more time for lunch with friends, reading books, quilting, and photography.  Ideally, I’d like to take some classes myself, and plan on enrolling in the Master Gardener course this coming spring.

 In some ways, I feel like I’ve failed, but mostly I find myself strangely giddy about putting two kids on the bus every morning. 

1 Comment

  1. Nana said,

    August 21, 2007 at 12:18 pm

    Hi , Nik
    I am so glad you are taking some time for you . What foreign language are you doing? that is so cool !! Failed!! NO WAY that could never happen.You and J are such good parents. I love your Blog, tell us what you have been Quilting,and reading.Get pictures of the first day ,getting on the BUS,would love to see them. NANA


Leave a Reply

