Be-ribbon Me

I’ve had some requests for photos of the quilts that I took to the fair. They did get blue ribbons, after all. I’d feel a little prouder if the entries hadn’t been so few this year. So this is the flag quilt I made this summer from scraps. I have it hanging outside my house (and it is straighter than it looks here):

flag quilt1

I have some closeups of the quilting on my flickr site if you want to see those; I quilted stars-and-loops in the blue field and in the border, and wavy lines in the stripes.

This is my son’s airplane quilt that I worked on for about a year. I got the free pattern at this kewl site and paper-pieced the blocks. I sent a few of the blocks to my friend Jan who did a great job embroidering the stars on the planes:

plane quilt

I took a long time figuring out how I wanted to quilt the top. I ended up doing a few fun things — G wanted me to make them shooting at each other, so here are a couple of those:

plane quilt 4

plane quilt3

I also quilted some planes doing loop-de-loops:

plane quilt2

BFF Charlie suggested having one plane flying a banner. It turned out to be my favorite:

plane quilt5

8 Comments

  1. swooze said,

    September 11, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Adorable plane quilt! I have a Gavan! Nice FMQ!

  2. Martha said,

    September 11, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    I like the quilt very much, and I think your son must be very happy with it also. It seems to me we see so many pictures of “glamorous” quilts that we forget that quilts are made by Real People for Real People — and they are treasures. Both the quilts and the people. My congratulations to you on a lovely accomplishment.
    from Martha/Houston TX

  3. idahospud said,

    September 11, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Hey gals, thanks for stopping by and for the warm fuzzies!

    Martha, I am one who wants her quilts to be Used–maybe not Abused, but I’m not going to spend my limited free time on a quilt just so someone can stick it on a shelf, ya know? Thanks for making me smile.

  4. September 12, 2007 at 12:49 am

    I have just found your blog via the Stashbusters group. Great quilts! Sounds like we have some things in common: quilting, reading… I’m 37, and only have 2 girls though. 6 kids and homeschooling, I am so impressed!

    I agree with you about making quilts to be used (despite the fact that I am working on one heirloom quilt (a Dear Jane http://www.dearjane.com)… How lucky you are to have a friend that gives you such fun scraps!

  5. Clare said,

    September 13, 2007 at 12:20 am

    found your blog through your posts on Stashbusters. The flag scrap quilt is lovely, but Gavin’s planes are superb.

  6. Vicky said,

    September 21, 2007 at 10:30 pm

    Boy, do I like your quilts! I am especially interested in the airplane quilt.

    My son really loves airplanes, too. Can you be more specific what the website was where you got the free pattern? I am new to all of this!

    Thanks.

  7. Vicky said,

    September 21, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    I just figured out where to click for the pattern….. duh!

    Thanks for being so efficient!

  8. Louise May said,

    October 23, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    What a beautiful airplane quilt. I love the loop-d-loops.
    You do beautiful work.
    bye bye


Leave a Reply

