Small Town Musings

Living in a rural community has its downsides–“good ol’ boy” politics, one grocery store (but five pizza shops–how does that happen?), no place to buy shoes, and everyone’s a busybody (with spotting scopes and police scanners–I kid you not).   But it also has great things about it, and one of those things is a sense of community.  Today I took five of my six kids to the dentist.  Simple enough, but as I thought about all the connections just in that office, it made me smile to myself.  One of the receptionists goes to church with me, the other taught ballet to two of my daughters, an assistant also attends my church, and I exercise with the dentist’s wife.  The clinic is shared with a doctor who used to date my sister (in another state, no less), and who coached my daughter’s soccer team last spring and whose children are on soccer teams with two of my children this fall.  His wife shares kidsitting with one of my best friends, and the doc who sold him the clinic has attended my book club for 11 years.  After I left the office, the receptionist needed me to come back for the debit card I left, so she tracked me down at my friend’s house because she knows that since it’s Wednesday, my 4-year-old plays over there in the afternoon and I’d be dropping her off.

 Maybe some people would feel stifled by those kinds of connections, but it makes me feel secure (despite my wallet getting stolen out of my car in the church parking lot a while back).  I like knowing that I’ll see friends in the grocery store and at the library and the park no matter when I go, even if it means I have to put mascara and lipstick on every time I leave the house. 

6 Comments

  1. Bobbie said,

    October 3, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    Good thing you don’t live in the South. You’d be putting on lipstick and mascara as soon as you got out of bed!
    Mom

  2. Kasey said,

    October 3, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    I had to chuckle reading this post. When we moved here a year and a half ago we knew we were moving to a small town. As we began to discover all the “connections” as you described, it began to grow smaller and smaller and smaller!

  3. Anonymous said,

    October 7, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    Hiya friend, thanks for your kind words. Love yer blog….and your house is gorgeous!!!!

  4. Holly said,

    October 7, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    There is something to be said for community, isn’t there?!

  5. Mark IV said,

    October 9, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    I have a friend who grew up in a town probably a lot smaller than yours. She told me that they always left the car out in the driveway with the keys in the ignition. Once she asked her dad if he was worried that the car might be stolen, and he replied that if it ever was taken, he knew it would be taken by one of the neighbors who really needed it and that they would bring it back as soon as they could.

  6. October 11, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Hi spud,

    Sorry to threadjack, but I need to contact you regarding a quote of yours I’m hoping to use in a Segullah article. Drop me a line.

    kathrynsoper at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

