The Object of My Affections

 . . . . is the name of my completed Valentine raffle quilt to be donated to the high school band’s travel fund.  I’m posting quilting details for those interested.
finished heart quilt2

I did a sort of opposite-stitch-in-the-ditch by using a wavy stitch in the middle of the background blocks:
IMG_5290

I used those quilted waves to echo the scalloped edge.  The pattern was very vague on how to do the scallop, but I think it turned out well:

The stitching ended up making some unintended heart shapes on the back:

I quilted meandering loops-and-hearts in the heart and the borders, using thread matched to the colors on the front but a verigated pink on the back.  This (very poorly lit)shot of the back (made of a plushy, Minkee-type fabric) gives you an idea of the finished quilting:
back of quilt

The quilt finished at an odd size — 53X62 inches — but it will be a great throw or cuddle-with-your-sweetheart blankie.  It was hard to let it go, so I hope it makes a ton of money!

7 Comments

  1. janet said,

    January 23, 2008 at 9:21 am

    I really like that quilting idea, I’m going to have to look for that stitch on my machine.
    A perfect border fabric,and great job on the scalloped border too. What a lucky school to have nice Mom’s like you.

  2. cher said,

    January 23, 2008 at 10:03 am

    a fabulous quilt and the quilting is to die for….very well done-from a fellow stashbuster!

  3. Holly said,

    January 23, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    It’s gorgeous. Do you give classes? There’s a new quilting store downtown and I’m tempted to go in and see if they offer beginning classes there. I’d love to learn.

  4. Idahospud said,

    January 23, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Hey Holly, if you click on Janet’s name in the first comment on this post, it will take you to her quilting blog. She lives in your town, AND she makes many of the samples for the new store you’re talking about! I think she might be teaching a class or two.

    However, I always love a quilting/sewing partner. I just taught a friend to quilt in December, and you are welcome to come over any time and I will teach you.

  5. Julia said,

    January 24, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    This is a nice quilt. I LOVE this fabric line. I am going to be making a quilt, shams, curtains, etc. for my 5 year old granddaughters room with this line of fabric. Pink and brown is a fun color combination.

    I just found your blog and I am sure glad that I did. I enjoy reading and visiting.

  6. Kris said,

    February 3, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Wow, Nik! It’s gorgeous! I wish I could have been there with you to quilt it. My sewing machine hasn’t been pulled out since I moved over a year ago *sigh*. Life is too crazy lately. In the meantime I’ll just watch you. I’m sad you won’t get to keep it.

  7. Maria said,

    April 13, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I was searching for a recipe for tater tot casserole (I lost mine) and I happened upon this page. What a BEAUTIFUL quilt you made! I would also have a hard time giving it up. I don’t know how to quilt, but I wish I did. I’m jealous!


Leave a Reply

