Shuffle, Shuffle . . .

I’ve been a pretty regular exerciser for the last ten years, even keeping up at spinning class until my 8th month of pregnancy.  Over that time I’ve taken step aerobics classes, lifted weights, sweated to The Firm in my neighbor’s basement, gone for walks, or attended 5:30am spin (stationary bike) at least three times a week.

Until last fall.

One morning I woke up at 5:00, and decided I wasn’t going to spin class, and I just never went back.  No gumption, no energy, and very little guilt.  I cancelled my gym membership, and wondered what was wrong with me.  One option I never, ever considered was jogging–ever since I about hyperventilated in junior high track, I’ve had no desire to run.  But two weeks ago, my neighbor invited me to start running down the road and back (a total of about 1.25 miles), it just hit me, Sure, why not?

The first day I stopped to walk about 6 times.  This morning was our 8th run, and I only walked twice.  I know that is sooooo pitiful, but at the Cool Running site, which has a program called “Couch to 5K,” I’m learning that I’m not the only beginner who is so out of shape! 

I decided to put this on my blog to give me more incentive to keep going.  My goal is to be able to jog the whole 5K in 7 more weeks, which puts me at about April Fool’s Day.  Maybe, just maybe, I will enter our town’s sprint-length triathlon this August.

I can’t believe I just said that.

6 Comments

  1. Julia said,

    February 11, 2008 at 9:54 am

    You go girl!!! You can do it! I just finished my walk for the day. I can’t run, I have bad knees, but I do try to walk at least 2 miles 6 days a week.
    Good Luck!!!

  2. Holly said,

    February 11, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Good for you! I’m such a lame exerciser. I hate it. The triathlon is such a great goal. Good luck.

  3. janet said,

    February 16, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Oh I don’t feel so bad now, I have been slacking off lately on my water areobics, getting easier and easer to find a excuse not to go. But I will continue,, that is a commitment to myself, darn.

  4. Angie said,

    February 25, 2008 at 1:20 am

    Nikki, I’m so glad you’re doing this with me. As you can tell by the time, I could and would use many an excuse to not go if I didn’t think you were waiting for me. We’ll keep shuffling along together. I’ll do the triathalon if you do… (what’s a triathalon?) Ha! See you in 5:45 hours!

  5. mfranti said,

    May 23, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    did i read that right? you only ran for 15minutes?

  6. mfranti said,

    May 23, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    …ok, that was wierd, i posted on the wrong thread and i didn’t even finish my thought.

    ok, i quit.


Leave a Reply

